Our Melting Pot

(Author’s note: It looks like Our Melting Pot has finally made the big move to another location. So all my information in the original article below would be outdated. Anyway, check here for the information of the new location:

http://www.ourmeltingpot.hostel.com/

https://backpackertrail.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/our-melting-pot-hostel/

Besides the new location is relatively near the old location so all the other tips still stand.)

If I were to visit Manila for the first time, I would stay in Our Melting Pot in Makati.  It is right across Handlebar on Polaris, and just a stone’s throw from Beers Paradise and Heckle and Jeckle.

If I walked down Polaris and turned left, I’d be on Jupiter, and sorta near the end of that street would be Distillery, probably the kewlest bar in the metropolis at the moment.  (Before coming to Distillery you could drop in on the bar-cum-club, Fiamma)

If I walked down Polaris and turned right on Jupiter.  I would keep on walking till I came to the Dona Consolacion Bldg.  Inside I would find Beauty Brick Salon run by the inimitable Mr. Shin.  Here you can get Korean-Japanese haircuts for an affordable price.  Plus you get the cross-cultural experience of a Korean hairstylist who can only speak Japanese to a Filipino assistant who will then translate what he said into English.  Kewl.

If I were to walk down Polaris, turn right on Durban, turn right on Burgos, turn right on Kalayaan.  I would walk down until I came upon Algier street and turned left.  Here I would find the best Thai resto, Soms. 

If I had just stayed on Kalayaan, turned left on Rockwell Drive.  I would eventually come across the best mall in the Philippines, The Power Plant Mall.

This is why I would stay in Our Melting Pot.  It is near everything.

Leave a Reply

