The Best in Philippine Contemporary Art

Do yourself a favor and go to the Best in Philippine Contemporary Art Art Fair Philippines. It is in The Link building between Landmark and Shangri-La Hotel in Makati. Locals would know it as the new Ansons building. The fair will be running from Feb. 7 to Feb. 10. It really has the latest in Filipino art including the latest from the million dollar man himself, Ronald Ventura, and he does not disappoint. So if you have any more doubts about the Philippines being the next big thing, this might solidify and surprise you. Sugud Pilipinas!

7 thoughts on “The Best in Philippine Contemporary Art

  1. Friend,

    I know about your blog by chance, when I’m looking for some information about live music in Manila today. Your blog is not so informative, yes, but it’s lovely, so much. The way you see things.. it’t not just sharing information, it’s telling stories from your feelings about life, culture.. “from a Philippine point of view”, from a Philippine’s feelings.. šŸ™‚

    I will soon come to your country and taste all those things by myself, peguin cafe, roxas blv, live music, food, houses, people, and so on.

    Best regard from Vietnam.

  2. Thank you for giving me some ideas to see and feel Manila the way a real Philippino did! Nice to meet you through this blog.

    A friend from Vietnam šŸ™‚

  3. Hi, nice Saturday! šŸ™‚

    I’ve already read about Kalayo. Padayon (Go on) – is this the typical style of Kalayo? And the colourful music in Sugmila. I love the dancers, also. They all sound interesting to me. Something instinct, something folk, culture.. My plan to Manila starting on Feb 2014, I’ll try to catch Kalayo in Manila. Thank you so much for sharing information.

    I guess you know Peguin Cafe – or Peguin Cafe Orchestra or The bar @ 1951 – I really dont know exactly the name, and the location of the bar, it changed several times, is it? I intend to go there, head for live music from various artists, and enjoy the familiar air inside a large and strange city šŸ™‚ Do you think this bar a good choice to explore Manila and Philippino music?

    Btw, the lady-singer in Kalayo band, her voice is strange, her way of singing, she often brings some.. tremolos.. well, I dont know how to describe.. I mean, really inspiring!

    Well, thank you again, nice weekend! šŸ™‚

  4. Penguin (1951) Is located in Remedios Circle in Malate, the backpacking district of Manila. That’s where most travelers will catch Kalayo playing. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

