El Chupacabra Makati

As if Polaris St. couldn’t get any better, nearby Felipe St. has a street taco place. The Mexican food wars have been getting ferocious and I thought the old stalwart Mexicali was down for the count, but I was wrong. Underpricing but out flavoring the competition, they opened El Chupacabra!

Cheap street tacos at roughly 90 pesos each. Yesterday I had a sisig taco, chicharon taco (soft though not fried chicharon), and a fried spicy shrimp taco. It still reminds me of Mexicali, but, boy, is it good! I would go back for its faux street ambiance and the general camaraderie of the patrons. Next on my list would be the fish taco and the goat meat taco. Across it is Heckle and Jeckle, now called H&J. New location for H&J, too.

One more thing, the tacos are so good that they give you two fajitas. One for the taco, and one for if ever some of the trimmings start falling off.

All other Mexican places, your move!

Feb. 15, 2014

I’ve gone back several times to El Chupacbra and the hands down street taco champion they have is the Camarones a la Diabla.  Mouth explosions!  Or as I called it earlier, fried spicy shrimp tacos.  I cry every time I eat it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

